Exlibrises (bookplates)



Gargantua et Pantagruel

by Arkady Pugachevsky

122×78 mm, X6/6, 1994, op. # 42
owner (customer): Luc Van den Briele

Francois Rabelais: Gargantua et Pantagruel

The Life of Gargantua and of Pantagruel (in French, La vie de Gargantua et de Pantagruel) is a connected series of five novels written in the 16th century by François Rabelais. It is the story of two giants, a father (Gargantua) and his son (Pantagruel) and their adventures, written in an amusing, extravagant, satirical vein. There is much crudity and scatological humor as well as a large amount of violence. Long lists of vulgar insults fill several chapters.